xt 16 speed wing

Multifarious banter, club business, announcements & greetings.

Moderator: Moderation Team

xt 16 speed wing

Postby gary begley » Tue May 05, 2009 2:53 pm

http://www.flyozone.com/speed/en/products/gliders/xt-16

I have been flying this wing the last 5 days in Bishop....SUPER FUN :)))) If you get a chance to fly one...do it :)

Quick posting i did on paragliding forum:

just recieved the wing last week from Matt G with Ozone with the objective of using the XT-16 for new adventures in mountain descents. I have been flying paragliders for five years (my current wing is an Addict R and my tandem wing is the lightweight 38 magnum). As for speed wings, I have just a few experiences flying them in the past. After receiving the XT-16, I headed straight to Bishop (Sierra Nevada California) with the sight of spending one month in this beautiful range doing mountain descents. After my initial nerves of the first flight, being new to speed flying, I had all of the concerns that most would have. However, the anxiety quickly subsided once I took flight and saw how gracefully and comfortably the wing flew. I took off in very light conditions and right away was amazed at the glide this small wing had. The control input was precise and responsive, but not extreme for a novice speed flyer with a paragliding background. As for the landing...perfect!

I have noticed on this topic, the majority of pilots are discussing flying the XT-16 as a high wind, soaring wing for that I have no information, or interest in that particular type of flying. But for those of you looking for hike and fly adventures around the world, this could be the wing for you. As for me it is it has opened up a new inspiration and reignited passion for flying.

Gary Begley
http://www.garybegleysports.com
Last edited by gary begley on Thu May 14, 2009 6:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
gary begley

Re: xt 16 speed wing

Postby cortf » Thu May 07, 2009 6:50 am