Tandemania... try it, you'll be glad you did

Past, present, and future flights, meeting times & places, theory.

Moderator: Moderation Team

Tandemania... try it, you'll be glad you did

Postby gracecab » Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Thought I'd write my reflections about the tandem with Mitch I had on 10/28/2017 in order to record the experience for others who may be thinking of doing the same.

I'm a 5 year PG pilot, male, 200 lbs, P2, with typically 20-40 mountain flights on average a year and a fair amount of ridge flying at Bates usually... but also fly Marshall, Elings/Wilcox occasionally. I'm 50, average shape, want to improve my skills, thermalling and strategic, and reading weather/signs, among other things.

First of all I've been getting a little stuck in my flying from the local mtn. launches: Skyport and EJ, VOR, etc.

It seems I keep doing the same thing with the same unwanted results, getting into situations of marginal lift (for me, not others) where I get frustrated, scared, or just distracted and end up landing much earlier than I wanted. (while others are tooling around happily). It's hard to know exactly where the stuck is. Like they say, you don't know what you don't know. You watch videos. Have some crackasauce on top. You read the internets about paragliding where those precious few articles exist. You talk to those who you respect... and now... You get a tandem with those who know best. :D